ALA Lecture Series – Roundtable

The ALA Lecture Series presents

Why Wasn’t My Article Published? A Roundtable

October 31st 2020, 12.00pm EST, 5.00pm Lagos, 6.00pm Johannesburg, 7.00pm Nairobi 

Join us on the ALA YouTube Channel:

 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCaYYHGM8iraoQF48xeCnMKw

Five scholars with editorial experience explain how they evaluate manuscripts that come their way, and what they see as the major issues in journal publication for African literary and cultural studies today. They discuss whether the protocols used by editors and reviewers in African studies journals alter or reinforce the imbalances we see in global publishing today.

Moradewun Adejunmobi, University of California, Davis
Editor in Chief, Journal of the African Literature Association
Member, Editorial Board, Journal of African Cultural Studies
 
Bhekizizwe Peterson, University of Witwatersrand
Member, Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of the African Literature Association
Member, Advisory Board, Journal of African Cinemas
 
Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi, North Carolina State University
Member, Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of the African Literature Association
Member, Advisory Board, Contemporary Women’s Writing
 
Tom Odhiambo, University of Nairobi
Editor, Eastern African Journal of Literary and Cultural Studies
 
Adélékè Adéẹ̀kọ́, Ohio State University
Associate Editor, Research in African Literatures
Member, Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of the African Literature Association

 

For more information:

Professor Akin Adesokan, Indiana University, adesokan@indiana.edu 

Professor Ghirmai Negash, Ohio University, negashg@ohio.edu

Professor Matthew H. Brown, University of Wisconsin, web@africanlit.org