Book of the Year Award – Scholarship

For an outstanding book in African literary studies published in the preceding calendar year. The award comes with a $250.00 cash prize.


Jay Pather, Performance, and Spatial Politics in South Africa2023 Winner: Ketu H. Katrak
Jay Pather, Performance, and Spatial Politics in South Africa
Indiana University Press, 2021.



Honorable Mention: Jeanne-Marie Jackson ⎻ The African Novel of Ideas: Philosophy and Individualism in the Age of Global Writing (Princeton University Press)

2022 Winner: Monica Popescu
At Penpoint: African Literatures, Postcolonial Studies, and the Cold War
Duke University Press, 2020.


2022 Winner: Melissa Thackway and Jean-Marie Teno
Reel Resistance: The Cinema of Jean-Marie Teno
James Currey, 2020.


2021 Winner: Carli Coetzee
Written under the Skin: Blood and Intergenerational Memory in South Africa
James Currey, 2019.


2020 Winner: Madhu Krishnan
Writing Spatiality in West Africa:  Colonial Legacies in the Anglophone/Francophone Novel
James Currey, 2018.


2019 Winner: Adélékè Adéèkó
Arts of Being Yoruba: Divination, Allegory, Tragedy, Proverb, Panegyric
Indiana University Press, 2017.


2016 Winner: Brinda J. Mehta
Dissident Writings of Arab Women: Voices Against Violence
New York: Routledge, 2014.



Honorable Mention: Simone A. Alexander for African Diasporic Women's Narratives: Politics of Resistance, Survival and Citizenship


See this year's Call for Nominations in Announcements for the dates and details on the next competition.