Book of the Year Award – Creative Writing

Awarded for an outstanding book of African literature, whether novel, non-fiction prose, play, or poetry collection, published in the preceding calendar year by an African writer. The award comes with a $250.00 cash prize.


2019 Winner: Timothy Ogene
This Day Ends Like Any Day
Holland House Books, 2017


2017 Winner: Fatou Fanny Cissé
Madame la Présidente
Abidjan: NEI-CEDA, 2015


2016 Winner: Manu Herbstein
The Boy Who Spat in Sargenti’s Eye
Accra: Techmate Publishers, 2014


Honorable Mention: Onyeka Iwuchukwu for Our Honourable Member


2014 Winner: Pede Hollist
So the Path Does Not Die
London: Jacaranda, 2014


See this year's Call for Nominations in Announcements for the dates and details on the next competition.