2021 Award Nominations

Nominations are open for the following 2021 ALA awards:

 --Book of the Year Award—Creative Writing For an outstanding book of African literature (novel, non-fiction prose, play, or poetry collection).

--Book of the Year Award—Scholarship For an outstanding book in African literary studies published in the preceding calendar year.

--First Book Award—Scholarship For an outstanding book in African literary studies, which is the first book by the author.

--Abioseh Porter Best Article Award For an outstanding article in African literary studies published in a major peer-reviewed journal in the preceding calendar year.

--Best Short Story For an outstanding African short story.

--ALA Distinguished Member Award For outstanding record of service to the ALA and commitment to teaching and scholarship in African literature.

**Each book, article, and short story award comes with a $250 cash prize.

Basic requirements:
  *   the book, article, or short story should be published in 2019
  *   the author must be a member of the African Literature Association at the time of submission
  *   a short biography of the author and abstract of the book should accompany the submission (sent via e-mailed)

Authors or their publishers can make nominations. Send six hard copies of each book and a pdf copy of the article or short story no later than December 15 to:


Director, African Literature Association Headquarters
202 Demarest
Hobart and William Smith Colleges
300 Pulteney Street
Geneva, New York 14456

Email: mccorkle@hws.edu


Nominations for the “Distinguished Member Award” should contain: (1) a biographical profile of the nominee and (2) a detailed justification for the nomination. This should not be more than two single spaced or four double-spaced pages. Please email nominations by December 15 to the ALA Vice President, Mohamed Kamara: kamaram@wlu.edu